Facing reality

So vegans who think everyone can be vegan please leave now. And yes for the record I am still vegan. But I have been questioning that a lot over the last 24 hours. Not that I shouldn’t still be vegan and not that ethically my views have changed. But that if it came to me having to eat meat. Would I? Answer is yes. If I had to. It would be incredibly hard… and painful and I’d hate it and hate myself but if I really had to I would. Because if it comes to it. Me and my health is far more important than that of any animals. I can’t go round helping the animals if I myself am not well.

I guess people are questioning why only now I am questioning this. When veganism is quite solidly embedded into my diet atleast. That’s because I have recently been diagnosed with Iron deficiency. Possibly Anemia? (Yay for two different voicemails from the receptionists at the doctors leading to slight confusion.)

But the point is I am a deficient vegan. Which honestly I never thought would happen to me. Well maybe with Calcium… but even pre vegan me never consumed enough of that. But never with Iron. I’m careful to get enough Iron in my diet. I eat dark leafy greens, Beans, pumpkin seeds, fortified foods etc and these are mostly paired with some form of vitamin C to help absorption. Feel like I deserve a god star right now. Yet I still ended up Iron deficient. So obviously I’m now taking supplements before exploring the eating a steak road. But the question is what if the supplements don’t help my levels rise (and yes I am drinking orange juice with them, so they better) What if I have some sort or non-heom iron absorption issue?

Lets hope I don’t. And this is more to do with the digestive issues I had up until a couple of months ago which got as bad as frequent bouts of bloody diarrhoea before my digestion spontaneously healed and this is all one big consequence of that. Or it could have something to do with the possible endometriosis. Or both.

But if it came to it and whenever I make the executive decision to go back down to the medical centre and ask for a re test (Think I live there right now…) everything will be up and I won’t even need to think about the meat issue. Because honestly meat is so ethically wrong to me. It’s a decision I would take very heavily.

Leave a Reply

